“Celery in Tamil?”

Edit: I’d just like to say that, as of July 17 2009, I’ve had 178 hits to this post. And not one person told me why they wanted to know. So, if you’re here to find out what celery is called in Tamil, please let me know what recipe it is that calls for it, and why you want to know. I’d really appreciate it. Thanks!

The page with the most hits on this blog is the Hindi-English-Tamil Glossary (link at the top under the banner). Where, if you’re in a hurry, you can go to find out what celery is called in Tamil. As you might know, this page is a collaborative effort. I put a few things up, and other people came on with questions and comments, and others with answers and more comments, and the page has just grown. When I set up the glossary, I didn’t think it would garner so much attention. It still surprises me. I set it up because I wanted people from both sides of my heritage – the Tamil ancestry and the Delhi adoption – to have access to all my recipes. The English names I have tried to put in both Indian English as well as American, although the recipes themselves are often in American English, for wider appeal.

But another top search term has made me curious. “Celery in Tamil” brings a lot of people to my website. Now, when I was in India, I didn’t eat celery at all. I know I saw it now and again in Sarojini Nagar, where we bought veggies, and which I sorely miss. But I never bought and ate it. In fact, I still rarely eat it, and much prefer it cooked than raw.

As I said, though, I’m curious. So If you were drawn here by your quest to find out what celery is called in Tamil (ajmoda, according to the GoI), could you please tell me why you want to know? What recipe are you using it in?

I hope to hear from some of you! Please leave a comment. Thanks!

29 thoughts on ““Celery in Tamil?”

  1. guys what is the exact tamil word for celery? and is it available in bangalore,india?

  2. Hey, The reason why most of the people wanted to know about Celery is following.. Njoy reading, stop talking and start seducing.

    Celery
    The benefit: Stop stalking, start seducing.

    It’s stringy and tastes like crunchy water, but celery is the swizzle stick that can stir up your sex life. Every stalk of the stuff is packed with androstenone and androstenol, two pheromones that can help you attract women the way trailer parks attract tornadoes. (Don’t worry, these steroids are different from the steroid androstenedione.)

    “When you chew a stalk of celery, you release androstenone and androstenol odor molecules into your mouth. They then travel up the back of your throat to your nose,” says Alan Hirsch, M.D., author of Scentsational Sex. “Once there, the pheromones boost your arousal, turning you on and causing your body to send off scents and signals that make you more desirable to women.”

    Try it next time you’re in a bar. Grab the celery from your brother-in-law’s Bloody Mary and munch away. “The pheromones take effect immediately, so you should notice the women around you paying more attention to you right away,” says Dr. Hirsch.

    And if you strike out? “Celery is a low-calorie, high-fiber food, so you can eat as much as you want and not regret it later,” says Ward.

    • u people… still i cant get equivalent in tamil for celery. ajmoda is not at all a familiar tamil word nor a correct word.

      • Ram, someone else on the glossary suggested sivarikkeerai. I’m sorry I am not personally familiar with the Tamil term. Please go to the glossary tab above and click on it. That might be more helpful.

  3. Going thru the process of losing extra fabs along with some yoga, one of the website suggested the role played by celery in reducing weight.

  4. Thanks. I have to say, I have read about celery being a good thing to eat if you want to lose weight, but raw celery tastes yucky. At least, to me. My husband likes to eat it with peanut butter, but I think that is an American taste and I have not acquired it.

  5. Nibble on low-calorie items, like carrot sticks, celery, and apples; suck cinnamon or chew gum. — Quit Tips for smoking!

  6. Re: Celery, though I have not found the tamil word, I leant that it is also related to Rhubab anad it supplies essential nutrients to othe bones. I am not sure about the recipe, but it is used with salad, it can also be eaten alon. Quite tasty as well.

  7. What Araaathi found, Kartik, Cannon and Kannan observed may be correct. Ram’s doubt is jistifiable. It may not be the tamil word.I am sure the description or relatianship I made 31.10.09 is bound t obe correct, though not the correct equivalent word yet to mention !
    T.Yogananther

  8. Savarikkeerai seeds are the highest source of calcium. Where can we get it in Chennai? Any ideas how to serve it to the children?

  9. Celery= Savvakkeerai or Salareekeerai in Tamil :) Salads, soups, you name it, Celery rocks!

  10. It can be one similar to Rhbab. It can also be related to Spinach/Keerai. Thus I am inclined to feel the savaarikeerai may be closely correct.
    If technology permits I willl try to get a photo of the Celery to be more accurate as to what we are seeking!

  11. Do a wiki on Celery and you will get the following image :
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Celery. Celery is used in weight-loss diets, where it provides low-calorie dietary fibre bulk. Celery contains androstenone.Celery seeds are also a great source of calcium, and are regarded as a good alternative to animal products

  12. Why we want to know the tamil word for celery is, it would be easier in term of communication when buying this celery at tamil supermarket or when explaining to our womens at home, as they dun much understand English.

    I hope this answers your question. Anywa, nice effort.

    • No. Kothamalli is coriander leaves/cilantro in the US. According to contributors on the glossary page, celery is called ajmoda in Tamil, or sivarikkeerai.

  13. I just moved back to India after living in the US for several years. I used celery in soups along with onions and it gave my soups a great and distinct taste. I believe India is the largest exporter of celery seeds to the US!! So, I want to know where I can get celery and what is the local name for it. It is available in the larger, new grocery and organic food stores, but is quite pricey. So, don’t want to pay a high price. Also, celery is one food which provides negative, yes you read that right, negative calories! Hence used by slimmers on diet! Thanks for your efforts Pravasidesi.

  14. When you chew celery, testosterone-triggering hormones androstenone and androstenol are released.

    As you munch a stalk of celery – these chemicals send signals from your mouth to your nose and directly stimulate the release of testosterone in your body.

  15. The calorie value of celery , 1 medium stalk is 6 and its root also have great values, celery is mainly used for weight reducing diet process

  16. Celery: considered an excellent food to ramp up sexual stimulation. The reason being that it boosts a powerful substance known as androsterone – an odorless hormone released through male perspiration. ‘Yuk’ I hear you, er, think. Well, this is one of those kind of sweats that has that strange effect on women…the same effect that I understand a dozen red roses and a bottle of champagne has (apparently).

    • Helo the comments above is believed to be true/correct.This iin fact forms part of the salary. It can even be taken alone, which gives a peppermint or similar flavour

Comments are closed.