Delicata rice

I came up with this on Thanksgiving, when I was trying to do something else and this is what eventually happened. It was very pretty, and very tasty. I would have taken a picture, but it got eaten before I thought about it. And yes, I pretty much eat rice with everything. It’s the South Indian in me. Must. Have. Rice.

You need: One delicata squash; 1/2 cup cooked rice; 1 tomato; 1 medium-sized onion; 1/2 tsp ginger paste; 1/2 can vegetable broth; salt and Italian seasoning to taste (or fresh herbs).

How to:

Cut the squash in half, scoop out the seeds.

Place squash in a shallow bowl with a bit of water (rind up) and microwave on high for about 20 minutes. Note: squash will be VERY soft when this is done.

Chop onions and tomatoes finely.

Put a little olive oil in a pan, fry onions. Add ginger.

Cook a bit, add tomatoes.

Meanwhile, scoop squash out of peel, put in a bowl, and mash. When onions and tomatoes are cooked, add squash.

Add salt, Italian seasoning, vegetable broth.

Bring to a boil. Add rice.

Let it simmer a little (2-3 minutes).

Take off heat and eat.

