Manjapodi paal (Turmeric milk)

Okay. This is totally not food. It’s something my parents used to give me at bedtime when I had a bad cough that kept me up all night. It’s very soothing and turmeric is supposed to be good for you, so I’m sharing. I don’t like milk – I think I’m faintly intolerant – but this is very soothing once I get past the nausea. Heheh.

You need: 1 cup milk; ¼ tsp turmeric powder; a pinch of cinnamon powder; 2-3 crushed peppercorns (not powdered black pepper, they should be freshly – and coarsely crushed); 1-2 tsp sugar.
How to: Add everything to the milk and boil for about 5-10 minutes on low heat. Strain and drink while still warm.

5 thoughts on “Manjapodi paal (Turmeric milk)

  1. Hi Joya,
    You need turmeric powder. In all the recipes here, when I say “turmeric” I mean turmeric powder.

  2. My mom-in law does this with fresh turmeric roots- she coarsely grinds a little bit of turmeric (abt 1″ for a glass of milk) boils the milk with the ground turmeric- strains and serves. About 50 ml twice a day will help clear chest congestion in children

  3. thank u so much 4 d valuabl information on turmeric.hmm…wld lik 2 try out certain stufs here…nice visitin u!

Comments are closed.