Mango-plum chutney

I made this much the same way I made strawberry sauce and blueberry chutney, with a few minor differences.

You need: 1 sweet mango; 3 ripe plums; 2 tbsp brown sugar, 1/2 a small white onion; 1 tsp ground cinnamon; 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper

How to: put everything in a pan, add 1 cup water, mix well, and bring to a boil. Turn heat to low and let it simmer for about 30 minutes. Let it cool, and pour it into a clean, dry glass jar. Refrigerate. It should stay good for about 3-4 days. You could also freeze it, I think. I’m trying that, so if it doesn’t work I’ll let you know.

I envision this as a dip, like the ones you get with egg rolls, or as a substitute for jam, or over ice-cream, or really, whatever you feel will be good. If you find a particularly good combination, do let me know.

September 3, 2007: I ate this this morning over toast, instead of jam. It’s really, really good, if I may say so myself. It was okay over toast, I still think it would work best as a dipping sauce. It was tangy and spicy, and I think better warm than cold, but that’s a matter of preference. Oh, and by the way, I left it in the freezer up until today, with no ill effects.

