Gentle Guacamole

I have a love-hate relationship with avocados. I love the avocado “sushi” rolls, but pretty much dislike it in everything else. I do eat the occasional something-with-guacamole, but I can take it or leave it. However, here’s how I make it:

You need: Two ripe avocados, 2 tbsp lemon juice, 1/4 cup finely chopped tomatoes, 1/2 cup finely chopped cucumber, 1 tbsp minced garlic, 1/2 tsp red chili powder, 1/4 tsp ground coriander, 1/4 tsp ground cumin, salt to taste

How to: Put the lemon juice in a bowl. Cut the avocados in half (cut around the pit and scoop it out with a spoon – hang on to one pit). Scoop out the flesh and put it in the bowl. Mash with a fork. Add the spices, garlic, and salt and mix well. Add the remaining ingredients and mix them in. Put the pit into the bowl (It helps retain the color, I believe) and cover tightly. Take the pit out before you serve it. Or, if this is for your own pleasure and you’re going to nibble on it now and again, I guess you could leave it in.

