Too-Lazy-to-be Hummus

It’s mashed chickpeas, but served me well with my pita enough since I was being lazy. Oh, and it misses tahini, but feel free to add it. I didn’t have any and didn’t bother making it.

You need: 1 can garbanzo beans (chana), 2 tbsp lemon juice, 1/4 cup chopped cilantro, salt to taste, 1/2 tsp red chili powder, 1/2 tsp ground cumin, 2-3 cloves garlic, finely chopped.

How to: wash and drain the garbanzo beans. Mash roughly with a fork. Add the remaining ingredients and mix well. Congratulate yourself on another minimal expense of effort and eat with pita bread.

Edit: Shooky points out that this is not very nutritious, and offered some good suggestions for improvement -so I thought I’d link to Shooky’s Hummus Blog. I’m all for better and tastier hummus, and one day I will be truly healthy and soak my chickpeas the night before. I promise 🙂

2 thoughts on “Too-Lazy-to-be Hummus

  1. Gee, I think you should think of becoming a little bit less lazy. At list about hummus. Start by clicking my name and checking out my Hummus Blog (sorry, but I tend to be pretty serious when it comes to hummus…).

    You’d find there, among other things, a post about the nutritional difference between canned chickpeas and cooked dried chickpeas. It’s not THAT hard to do it by the book: you soak them for a night, or even more – some 12-24 hours in the fridge will do. Add some baking soda if you want the cooking part to be shorter. Then you cook for 1-3 hours (depending on how you soaked). When the chickpeas are really really soft, you can make a FABULOUS hummus.

    You’ll be thanking me!

  2. I thank you already 🙂
    I agree unconditionally about the difference in nutritional value – and taste. There’s no question good hummus, well-made, is better than wannabe hummus. But some of my recipes are simply experiments in trying to do something quickly and easily at the end of a very long day. Hence the too-lazy-to-be hummus. However, since I don’t really disagree with anything you said, I’ll link to your blog at the end of that recipe.
    Happy hummus eating!

Comments are closed.