Almond Butter

I like almond butter, but it’s really expensive in the stores. So I tried making some at home. It turned out very well, actually, except I think next time I will add a little salt and a little sugar. Or something to sweeten it and salt it a bit.

You need a food processor for this, and two cups of almonds. I used the metal blade I normally use for chopping vegetables, etc. I also used the slivered almonds you can buy in bulk anywhere, but you can use whole almonds as well. I did not roast them.

Put the almonds in the food processor and turn it on (not pulse). Leave it on until the nuts are all ground up and the butter forms a ball in the middle of the bowl. It’s great fun to watch, so don’t abandon your post. You might have to stop it and scrape the sides a couple of times. Once it forms a ball, you’ll see the oil (a greasy look) on the side of the bowl.

It’s done. It should keep, I anticipate, about a week in a tightly sealed jar in the fridge. Maybe less. I don’t know. But definitely not more.

Thank you, KitchenAid!

2 thoughts on “Almond Butter

Comments are closed.