Paneer Cutlets with Mango Chutney

Now, if you follow this blog, you know I like my cheese and chutneys. There’s a baked brie with blueberry chutney on here, and I’ve also experimented with a breaded boursin with fig jam, which I first tasted at a local restaurant, and fell in love. So I got to thinking, why not give this an Indian twist? Alas, I have no Indian mangoes, though my mother tormented me with news of the Alphonso she just ate. However, the red Mexican ones will do just as well for these purposes – let there be no blaspheming of Alphonsos by making them into chutney. So. Here’s how I did it, and do trust me and try this too. My husband and I thought they were delicious. For those of you who don’t eat egg, you can try adding 1 tsp of xanthan gum to the paneer. Sprinkle it over the surface once you’ve mixed everything else, then knead it in. It, well, gums up. Alternatively, mix a little cornflour with water so it forms a thin batter, and dip the cutlets in that before breading.

For the paneer cutlets: 1 cup paneer, 1 cup cooked rice, 1/4 cup finely chopped chives or cilantro, 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, salt to taste, an egg to bind, and breadcrumbs for breading!

Crumble the paneer in a bowl. Addthe rice, chives, salt, and cayenne and mix well. If you are adding the xanthan gum, do it now. If not, proceed to the next step.

Crack the egg into a bowl and whisk well. Pour it into a plate. Pour the breadcrumbs into a different plate.

Heat some oil (1/2 a cup at least) in a pan.

Form the paneer into a patty/cutlet about 1.5″ in diameter.

Dip it in the egg – both sides, and carefully so it doesn’t crumble.

Coat it with the breadcrumbs – both sides.

Put it in the pan. When it is fully browned on both sides, place it on a plate which has a paper towel/napkin on it, to drain the oil off.

Repeat until all the paneer is used up.

For the mango chutney: 1 sweet mango, 1 tbsp brown sugar

If the mango is very sweet, reduce the sugar a bit.

Cut the mango into pieces (we’re not using the peel here!).

Put the mango and the sugar in a saucepan. Add 1/2 cup water.

Cover and cook until soft. You may need to mash the mango up a bit now and again.

Eat the chutney over the cutlets. Of course, you can also try paneer tikki with mango-plum chutney.

