CSA Begins Today!

We’re going to collect our first CSA share today. For those of you who do not know what I’m talking about, CSA refers to community-supported agriculture. Essentially, you pay a local farmer some money in advance, buying a share (or half, as we are doing), of their produce. Then, when they have stuff ready, they give you a bit of that. It works out cheaper than buying veggies in the grocery (at least for us). You also get fresh, seasonal vegetables every week, and you get to support local agriculture. Yay! Find your CSA here.

That’s the good part. The downside, if you are not an adventurous cook, is that you get a lot of strange vegetables that you never have heard of, let alone seen. You may get a LOT of them, and you don’t always know what to do with them. You will probably end up getting a lot of greens at the beginning and end of the season. So What I’m going to do here is to tell you what I got in my share every week, suggest recipes, and tell you what I did with them. Or that’s the plan.We also plan to invest in a freezer and canning jars.

I hear that this week’s share will contain pak choi, tatsoi, rhubarb, green onions, garlic chives, lettuce, and oregano.

I hear you thinking “Stir Fry!” and, indeed, that thought has occured to me. I will consult with the Other Half. We are neither of us big salad eaters, so I have to decide what to do with a full head of lettuce. Soup? Grilled? Stir fry? Wraps? I have a feeling the rhubarb might end up in home-brewed wine, but I do really want to make a chutney out of it.

Also, look here for recipes and other fun stuff.

Watch this space.

