Storing greens and herbs

Here’s what I’ve found to be the best way. Do not wash the greens. Wrap them in a damp (not wet) paper towel and store in a nylon mesh bag, or a pillowcase, in the hydrator drawer of the fridge. They last at least a week, and cilantro, which I put in my fridge and forget about, has lasted about three in fairly decent  condition. Fresh herbs can also be stored the same way. Alternatively, you can do what I did with the fresh oregano I got from my CSA this week. I didn’t know when I would use it next, so I washed it, patted it dry, and put it in a mesh bag. Then I hung the mesh bag outside, where the sun and heat and wind will dry it. Or you could dry it in your oven, but that’s a waste of energy. You can also microwave it on a paper towel, I think, though I have never tried that.

