Kohlrabi Greens (Knol-khol saag)

We had quite  abit of kohlrabi (knol-khol), thanks to the CSA. I left some in the fridge from a couple weeks’ worth of veggies, and got two this week, and my friend, who doesn’t like kohlrabi, gave me two that she got in her CSA. We swopped her a Chinese cabbage, because I was getting a bit tired of the greens. Anyway, the kohlrabi we got this week had some lovely leaves on them. A quick call to my athai (aunt, FZ) verified that they were edible. So I made a variation of kohlrabi and collard greens – I used the greens from the kohlrabi instead of the collard.

I find the veins and stalks tough, so I only used the green part of the leaves – I veined them and chopped them up.

Ingredients: Kohlrabi (knol-khol) peeled and diced; 1 medium onion, finely chopped; 3 cloves garlic, minced; 2 tsp Kitchen King or garam masala, 1 tsp each cumin seeds (jeera), cayenne pepper (lal mirch), turmeric (haldi); and salt to taste.

How to:

  1. Heat some oil in a pan or wok (kadhai).
  2. Add all the spices. Stir well and turn the heat down to medium/simmer.
  3. Add the onion and garlic. Stir well and cook for 3-4 minutes.
  4. Add the kohlrabi and the greens. Stir and add 1 cup water. Add salt, stir again, and cover.
  5. Cook, covered, for 10 minutes or until kohlrabi can be cut with a spoon. Stir occasionally.

We are eating this tonight with brown rice and dal.

2 thoughts on “Kohlrabi Greens (Knol-khol saag)

Comments are closed.