Rice Cooker Pulao

My mother keeps telling me to try this, so I experimented yesterday. Basically, you throw the vegetables in with the rice in the rice cooker and let it all cook together. It was pretty tasty, but one thing I did notice was that the vegetables were softer than I like. I started with frozen veggies, so that might have had something to do with it. All in all, though, time saver and very easy. I used frozen beans, cauliflower, and peas, and a fresh turnip and onion. I think I will try this with carrots and peas next time, and maybe potato and some other veggies. Maybe even dal.

You need: 1 cup rice of your choice; 2 cups mixed vegetables; 1 tbsp oil; 1 small onion; 1/2 tsp each cumin (jeera) and cayenne (lal mirch); 2 tsp garam masala; salt to taste

How to:

  1. Chop the onion finely.
  2. If you are using fresh vegetables, chop them into 1/4″ pieces. You can keep them together in a bowl.
  3. Heat the oil. Add the cumin, cayenne, and garam masala when the oil is hot, and stir.
  4. Add the onion. Stir.
  5. When the onion is cooked, add the rest of the vegetables. Stir and cook for 3-4 minutes.
  6. Add the rice and stir well. Cook for 1-2 minutes.
  7. Transfer to a rice cooker. Add enough water to cook the rice, plus 1 cup. Add salt and mix well.
  8. Cover and set to “cook”.
  9. Check to see if it is done. My pulao cooked before it switched to “warm”, and had started to catch on the bottom when I took it out.
  10. Eat hot.
